Phillips Exeter Academy’s Daniel Webster Debate Society cordially invites you to its Parliamentary Extemporaneous debate tournament. The debates will be over straight resolutions and will incorporate the usage of Points of Information (POIs). (Points of Order, Points of Personal Privilege, and heckling will not be permitted.)

The schedule for the day is as follows:

10:00 – 11:00 am Registration and Breakfast (Wetherell Dining Hall)
11:30 am Meeting for Debaters and Judges (Assembly Hall in Academy Building)
12:00 – 1:00 pm Round One
1:00 – 2:00 pm Round Two
2:00 – 3:00 pm Round Three
3:00 – 4:00 pm Lunch Served (Wetherell Dining Hall)
4:30 pm Awards Ceremony (Assembly Hall in Academy Building)

Parliamentary Extemporaneous Debate Format

Prime Minister – 5 minutes
Member of the Opposition – 8 minutes
Minister of the Crown – 8 minutes
Leader of the Opposition – 8 minutes
Prime Minister – 3 minutes

A 30-second grace period will be allowed for each debater, with the exception of the Prime Minister’s rebuttal. The Government will be given 2 minutes to define the terms in the room with the Opposition and the judge, followed by a 10-minute preparation time for both teams.