Full Invitation

Event Guidelines

Dear Colleagues and Members of DANEIS,

You are cordially invited to the Stoneleigh-Burnham School Public Speaking Tournament, to be held on Sunday, September 29. This World’s qualifying tournament will focus on three public speaking genres. Each school may bring from one to up to six speakers, and each speaker should be prepared to speak in all of the following categories, in this order:

    1. Interpretive Reading (all, mandatory)
    2. Impromptu (all, mandatory)
    3. After-Dinner or Persuasive Speaking (each competitor chooses one)

Speakers and their coaches should arrive between 10:30 and 11:15 a.m. We expect to be done rounds by 3:30 p.m., with awards to follow. Stoneleigh-Burnham’s brunch will be served from 10:30 A.M. to 11:30 A.M. Brunch will be the only full meal served during the day. Event guidelines are linked above and should answer all other questions about individual events. Please read your event guidelines carefully and remember that all After-Dinner and Persuasive speeches must be original. A speaker may use notes in these two categories, but these are limited to one index card, both sides. Impromptu speeches must be just that—-Impromptu.

Each school is expected to bring: one judge, if you are bringing one to four speakers; two judges, if you are bringing five or six speakers. To be eligible for team awards, you must register at least four speakers. Only the top four speakers from a school will be averaged for awards. First, second, and third place will be awarded in each of four categories. An overall tournament winner will be named.

Finally, the fee for this tournament is $70 per team. You may bring an additional observer, student or faculty, at no additional cost.

Please respond by Tuesday, September 25th with your student speakers’ names and each speaker’s choice of either an After-Dinner or Persuasive speech. We look forward to seeing you all soon!

Karen Suchenski, Stoneleigh-Burnham Debate Coach
Ira Hysi, Joy Lundberg, Debate & Speaking Society Co-Presidents